The mayor's cabinet

The mayor's cabinet

The Mayor of Lewisham, Sir Steve Bullock, chooses councillors to form his cabinet. The cabinet helps the mayor make key decisions. Cabinet members have responsibility for specific issues.

Cabinet members

Deputy Mayor and Cabinet Member for Growth and Regeneration (also Young Mayor)

Councillor Alan Smith

  • Regeneration, economic development and planning policy.
  • Capital programme and property holdings.
  • Transport, highways.
  • Emergency planning.
  • Youth employment initiatives.
  • Social enterprise.
  • Young Mayor programme.

Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing and Older People

Councillor Chris Best

  • NHS integration.
  • Adult social care and health including supporting people.
  • Adult education and libraries.
  • Ageing well.
  • Intergenerational links.
  • Arts, sports and recreation.

Cabinet Member for Resources 

Councillor Kevin Bonavia

  • Budget monitoring and supports Mayor on financial policy.
  • Human resources including equal opportunities in employment.
  • Internal audit, procurement, efficiency and legal services.
  • ICT.
  • Revenue collection and benefits.

Cabinet Member for Community Safety (also equalities)

Councillor Janet Daby

  • Partnership with police.
  • Crime reduction and antisocial behaviour.
  • Responsible for drugs, youth offending, wardens and CCTV.
  • Troubled families.
  • Reducing youth violence.

Cabinet Member for Policy and Performance

Councillor Joe Dromey

  • Communications.
  • Supports Mayor on policy development.
  • Non-financial performance monitoring.
  • eGovernment.
  • Customer contact and complaints.

Cabinet Member for Housing

Councillor Damien Egan

  • Strategic home building programme.
  • Housing management.
  • Private sector housing.
  • Homelessness.

Cabinet Member for Children and Young People

Councillor Paul Maslin

  • Schools including admissions, special educational needs and children with complex needs.
  • Child protection, fostering and adoption.
  • Corporate parenting.
  • Children’s health services.
  • Family support services, early years, children’s centres.
  • Youth service.

Cabinet Member for Third Sector and Community 

Councillor Joan Millbank

  • Police liaison with community organisations including faith groups.
  • Equalities.
  • Community development including local assemblies.

Cabinet Member for the Public Realm

Councillor Rachel Onikosi

  • Environmental services.
  • Parking policy and enforcement.
  • Sustainable energy.
  • Parks.
  • L​​​ead for regulatory services.


Executive Office (Cabinet)

020 8314 6833