Lewisham Council - School term dates 2018–19
Menu

School term dates 2018–19

School term dates for Lewisham schools in the year 2018–19.  

Autumn term 

  • Monday 3 September to Friday 19 October (35 days)
  • Half term: Monday 22 October to Friday 26 October
  • Monday 29 October to Friday 21 December (40 days)

Spring term

  • Monday 7 January to Friday 15 February (30 days)
  • Half term: Monday 18 February to Friday 22 February
  • Monday 25 February to Friday 5 April (30 days)

Summer term

  • Tuesday 23 April to Friday 24 May (23 days) (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 6 May)
  • Half term: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
  • Monday 3 June to Tuesday 23 July (37 days)

Total: 195

In 2018–19 children should attend school for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teachers must be available to work for 195 days during the academic year. 

Schools which close for local elections must extend a term or coincide the closure with an INSET day.

Public holidays 

  • Christmas Day: Tuesday 25 December 2018
  • Boxing Day: Wednesday 26 December 2018
  • New Year’s Day: Tuesday 1 January 2019
  • Good Friday: Friday 19 April 2019
  • Easter Monday: Monday 22 April 2019
  • Early May bank holiday: Monday 6 May 2019
  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 27 May 2019
  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 26 August 2019

Top story

Council services over the Christmas and New Year period

Find out about changes to council services over the Christmas and New Year period.

News

Local businesses recognised for their role in tackling obesity

Local businesses that have pledged their support for the Sugar Smart Lewisham campaign were praised at a celebration event held at the Civic Suite in Catford today, Thursday 15 November.

Provisional GCSE results show improvement in Lewisham

Provisional GCSE results show that schools in lewisham are improving.

More news

Content Promos

Free 15 hours per week childcare for two-year-olds