How to register to vote
Menu

How to register to vote

​Find out how to register to vote and see deadlines for getting your name added to the register.

Household enquiry form

A household enquiry form is sent to every household in the borough in the autumn. This form is to check whether voter registration records are correct.

To complete the form, write the names of all the people who are eligible to vote on the form and return it to electoral services.

Please respond to the household enquiry form as soon as possible either online, by phone or by text.

Individual registration form

You may receive an individual registration form if you are new at your address, or have not yet registered using the new individual registration form.

You can complete this online or in paper form and post it back to us. You will need to give your date of birth and National Insurance number as identifying information.

When you will be registered

The register is updated on the first working day of each month. To be added to the register in time for the next published register you will need to submit your application to us by the deadline for new applications for that month (see deadlines below).

Once you have completed the application to register to vote, we will send the details to the Government for verification. When your details are verified we will confirm your entry on the register.

If we need any more information from you we will contact you.

Once your details are officially published on the register you will receive a confirmation letter.

2017 registration deadlines

​Deadline for applications ​Date register published
​Monday 12 December 2016 ​Tuesday 3 January 2017
​Tuesday 10 January 2017 ​Wednesday 1 February 2017
​Tuesday 7 February 2017 ​Wednesday 1 March 2017
​Friday 10 March 2017 ​Monday 3 April 2017
​Thursday 6 April 2017 ​Tuesday 2 May 2017
​Wednesday 10 May 2017 ​Thursday 1 June 2017
​Friday 9 June 2017 ​Monday 3 July 2017
​Monday 10 July 2017 ​Tuesday 1 August 2017
​Thursday 10 August 2017 ​Friday 1 September 2017

 

Contact

Electoral Services
London Borough Of Lewisham Laurence House
1 Catford Road
Se6 4ru

Email: