Mayoral and local councillor elections 2018

Mayoral and local councillor elections 2018

A local election is happening on Thursday 3 May to elect Lewisham’s new mayor and ward councillors.

About the mayor and councillors

We have a directly elected mayor who is responsible for council policy and making key decisions about services in the borough. Each ward has three councillors who represent residents in that area. The new mayor and councillors will serve a four-year term of office until 2022.

Who can vote in this election

To vote in this election you must be registered to vote by midnight on Tuesday 17 April and be:

  • aged 18 or over
  • a resident in the Lewisham borough
  • a British, Commonwealth, Irish or EU citizen.

Read more about who can vote in UK elections.

Voter ID pilot

We are not part of the voter ID pilot which is taking place in the London Borough of Bromley and four other local authorities ahead of this election in May. You do not need to bring ID to vote at polling stations in the London Borough of Lewisham.

Apply for a postal or proxy vote

If you are not able to vote in person on Thursday 3 May, find out how to apply for a postal or proxy vote.

Important dates

Please take note of the dates below, particularly if you plan to apply for a postal or proxy vote.

Election agents

See a full timetable for candidates and agents.

Date Information
27 March Publication of notice of election
27 March First issue of polls cards (Sent to everyone on register by 1 March. Further issues will take place every week.)
9 April (4pm) Statements of persons nominated published.
17 April (midnight) Deadline for registration.
17 April First issue of mayoral booklets.
18 April (5pm) Deadline for receipt of postal vote applications.
18 April First issue of postal votes.
25 April Deadline for receipt of proxy vote applications.
27 April First day to re-issue replacement postal vote applications.
3 May Polling day (polling stations open 7am–10pm)
3 May (5pm) Deadline to receive emergency proxy vote applications.
3 May (5pm) Deadline for reissuing replacement postal votes (in person).
4 May (from 9am) Election count.
4 May Publication of election results.