Lewisham Pupil Ambassadors Awards 2013

Published on 12 July 2013

Successful primary and secondary school students have been recognised in an awards ceremony organised by the Lewisham Pupil Ambassadors who help young people achieve their full potential.

The Lewisham Pupil Ambassador Awards 2013 took place at the Broadway Theatre in Catford on 9 July. It was hosted by the Pupil Ambassadors who presented awards to inspirational children and young people nominated by their peers, teachers, parents and carers.

The Lewisham Pupil Ambassadors (LPA) Programme began as a pilot with 13 students in 2006 and has since grown from strength to strength – being hailed as one of the most innovative developments in the borough. There are now 50 dedicated ambassadors from Year 11 through to university graduates who return to the borough to help schools and young people achieve.

The Ambassadors run peer mentoring and classroom support programmes in schools as well as aspiration assemblies, and support students with the transition to secondary school. They aim to inspire all children and young people to reach their full potential and to ‘be the best that you can be!’.

Over 700 guests attended and prominent figures in the community were in attendance at the awards to show their support, including Cllr Helen Klier, Cabinet Member for Children and Young People and Sir Steve Bullock, Mayor of Lewisham. 

Pupil Ambassador and Chemistry graduate David Falola, 21, said: “The Lewisham Pupil Ambassadors Awards are important because they celebrate the achievements of young people in Lewisham, which should be done more often. These awards spread good news, keep spirits high and bring the community together.”

Pupil Ambassador Desree Asante-Larbi, 21, has been involved in the programme for seven years and just graduated with a 2:1 in Economics from the University of Kent. She said: “The Pupil Ambassadors themselves come from diverse backgrounds and are at different educational stages. We pool our experiences and ideas together in a way that encourages young people to focus on their own future and career opportunities.”

Michael Powell-Davis, 16, became a Pupil Ambassador in the autumn of 2011. Michael spoke of how he has benefitted from the programme: “As a Pupil Ambassador, I have had the opportunity to go to lectures and learn a lot about how the education system works which will help me in my future career as a teacher.” 

The winners of each category are:

The Pupil Ambassadors GOAL Model Award:

This award is for highly motivated students who inspire others to do well with a positive mental attitude. The winners in this category are:

  • Annita Adams, Conisborough College (Year 9)
  • Emily Millson, Coopers Lane School (Year 3)
  • Hok Wong, Deptford Green School (Year 11)
  • Charlie Matthews, Forest Hill School (Year 10)
  • Michael Pink, Greenvale School (Year 13)
  • Lucille Jousselin, Sedgehill School (Year 11)
  • Amore Allen, St James Hatcham CE School (Year 6)
  • Max Odoch, Watergate School (Year 5)


(Left) Deptford Green winner Hok Wong being awarded by Oscar Wright, and (right) Lucille Jousellin from Sedgehill being awarded by fellow Sedgehill student Michael Powell-Davies.

Outstanding Achievement Award:

For pupils who have gone the extra mile in terms of hard work and overcoming challenges to reach their full potential and make exceptional progress. The winners in this category are:

  • Liam Tierney, Addey & Stanhope School (Year 9)
  • Samuel Afolabi, Bonus Pastor Catholic College (Year 11)
  • Arjay Samuels, Downderry Primary School (Year 3)
  • Desire Samuels, Downderry Primary School (Year 3)
  • Destiny Samuels, Downderry Primary School (Year 3)
  • Chikezie Oparah, Haberdashers' Aske's Hatcham College (Year 13)
  • Dharun Mohanakanth, Lee Manor School (Year 2)
  • Glenes Mainoo, Marvels Lane School (Year 6)
  • Isatu Momoh, Sedgehill School (Year 9)
  • Angel Doan, Turnham Primary School (Year 3)

Additionally, awards will be presented to groups for collaborative working:

Working Together Award:

For outstanding contribution to raising the aspirations of others through working in partnership. The winners in this category are:

  • The Pupil Leadership Team, Trinity Lewisham (Year 11)
  • Year 9 Circle of Friends, Sydenham School (Year 9)
  • Super Sixes, Coopers Lane School (Year 6)
  • Pupils' School Council, Rathfern Primary School (various Years)

The LPA Special Award for Outstanding Young Leaders:

This year, a special award was presented to the Young Citizens’ 10,000 Hands Steering Group of Prendergast Ladywell Fields College.  The award recognises the exceptional contribution these young people have made through their work on the City Safe Haven Campaign and subsequent 1,000 and 10,000 Hands campaigns.

To help celebrate the achievements, students from schools across the borough performed, featuring the choir at St William of York RC Primary School, a drumming piece from Conisborough College, Forest Hill School ‘Therefore’ dance performance, the Madrigal Choir from Sydenham School singing ‘Grandma’s Hands’ by Bill Withers, solo artist Christine Aasma from Prendergast Ladywell Fields College and the award winning Vocalize choir from Sedgehill School who performed P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) by Michael Jackson and Run by Snow Patrol. 

The ceremony was closed with a well-received performance of the LPA theme song, written and performed by Pupil Ambassador Nebenzial McLean.



Content Promos